Board Members


2022 Friends of Chelsea District Library Board Members

President: Dayle Wright
President Job Description

President Elect:  Vacant
President Elect Job Description

Treasurer: Nancy Neff
Treasurer Job Description

Secretary:  Gary Zenz
Secretary Job Description

Merchandising Chair: Marilyn Kuehl

Hospitality Chair: Terri Bollinger
Hospitality Chair Job Description

Membership Chair: Jean Vargas
Membership Chair Job Description

Communications Chair: Lisa Climer-Harding
Communications Chair Job Description

Book Sale Task Force Chair: Jan Carr
Book Sale Task Force Chair Job Description


2021 Friend of the Year Marjorie German

Marjorie, often called Marge, was born in Frankenmuth, Michigan. As a child, she read everything age appropriate, because for Marjorie, reading has always been a joy! Whenever Marge and her husband, Bob, moved to different cities in Michigan, she always sought out the town’s library. When they moved to Chelsea they were busy settling into a new home with their children, and she found the library right away. One day the local newspaper, The Chelsea Standard, landed on her porch with a job posting for a librarian at the McKune Library. She answered the advertisement and she was hired! From that moment on, her heart was permanently attached to the library in Chelsea. She worked with one other person as a librarian, and they did everything from ordering the books to servicing patrons. She still enjoys all that the library offers, but most of all she enjoys meeting people and reading books. She is happy and proud to be part of the Chelsea District Library—which she warmly calls, “My Library.”

Interested in becoming a Friend of Chelsea District Library? Visit

Friend of the Year Honor Roll

Jean Vargas 2020

JoAnn Munce 2019
Bill Coelius 2018
Michele Mullens 2017
Mary Budzinski 2016
Gary Munce 2015
Nancy Neff 2014
Elizabeth Sensoli 2013
Jan Carr 2012
Kim Verardi 2011
Sandra Shapiro 2010
Louise Jernigan 2009
Pat Coelius 2008
Stan Staffeld 2007
Sharon Pignanelli 2006
Greg DeGraff 2005
Louise Jernigan 2004
Jennifer Kundak 2003
Mitch Planck 2002
Allen Cole 2001
Tom Lancaster 2000
Stan & Dottie Staffeld 1999
Larry Ogden 1998
Sandra Thomas 1997
Ben & Mary Lou Bower 1996
Ray Timmerman 1995
Louise Timmerman 1994
Mary Green 1993
Diane Kyte 1992